🎻♫♪ – Metamorphosen by Richard Strauss

List Item: Listen to half of the 1001 Classical Works You Must Hear Before You Die
84/501Title: Metamorphosen
Composer: Richard Strauss
Nationality: German

It’s early April 1945, Germany is about to surrender to the Allies after being nearly destroyed and Strauss pens a mournful classical piece for an orchestra for 23 strings by the name of Metamorphosen or ‘Changes’. It wouldn’t be another year before it’s performed and then a few years after that Strauss dies. Towards the end of his career Strauss sees some of the biggest changes in his homeland right as he’s about to undergo life’s biggest change – which explains the mournful tone.

At nearly half an hour long, this piece is a strings only time capsule for how Strauss saw himself at the end of his life as his country was on it’s knees. It’s an interesting look back at his career, one that I am not too acquainted with yet – but will be one I have gotten to grips with more of his works. Honestly, this is one of those pieces that was nice enough to listen to, but without a whole bunch of relistens I probably won’t be able to properly unpack things. So let’s just leave it there.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.