(✿◠‿◠) Anime!!! – One Piece

List Item:  Watch the 100 best anime TV series
Progress: 21/100Title: One Piece
Episodes Aired: 790+
Episodes Watched:
61
Year(s): 1999-present

When I added the anime list to this bucket list I never stipulated a point that I would have to reach before being able to give up a show. For a show like Erased this would never be a problem since 11 episodes is almost nothing to just get through, however I don’t fancy the idea of making my way through nearly 800 of these.

I saw some people online discussing the mammoth task of starting One Piece from the beginning and questioning whether it was actually worth it. The standard advice was to get to episode 42 and make your decision from there. I overshot this a bit because I figured it was worth an extra pop, but I still had my issues.

For those who don’t know: One Piece is a show about a boy called Luffy who sets sail to become ‘King of the Pirates’. He also has stretchy superpowers that pretty much make him a rubber man.

Most of the episodes I saw revolved around Luffy getting members of his crew together and the beginnings of some of the mythology. Mythology that is actually quite interesting. However, this is a shonen series and that means that most of the episodes revolve around fighting sequences. Where the fights in Hunter x Hunter felt unique and had an interesting bent, the fights in One Piece got old pretty fast.

The other big problem was the repetition. In a 25 minute episode of the episode about 5 is taken up by the credits, another 5 by a recap of the previous episode and then 1-2 minutes previewing the next episode. It doesn’t make for a satisfying binge watch when you keep reaching for the fastforward.

With this crossed off there are few long series left on the list. I think I’ll be reaching for Assassination Classroom next. I mean, who doesn’t like an anime about a yellow space octopus?

Leave a Reply

