What’s On TV – Keeping Up With The Kardashians

List Item:  Watch half of the 1001 TV Series You Must Watch Before You Die
Progress: 187/501
Title: Keeping Up With The Kardashians
Episodes Aired: 181
Episodes Watched: 20
Year(s): 2007-now
Country: USA

It wasn’t meant to go down like this. I was meant to hate watch this. I was meant to find this utterly boring. I was meant to be able to roll my eyes and then forget all about this show.

Instead I have ended up working out who my spirit Kardashian is (it’s Khloe, in case you were wondering) and I will be continuing to watch this as the the show I cook dinner to.

Here’s the thing. Other than Hoarders I have never really had a trashy show to watch. Many people have a show that would be their guilty pleasure whether it be Say Yes To The Dress or Vanderpump Rules. I think that with Keeping Up With The Kardashians I might have found a show to watch when I am feeling tired, blue or sick.

For these 20 episodes I absorbed the first two seasons and then watched the two-part episode depicting the wedding of Kim to Kris Humfries (since I figured that it would be interesting to see the big wedding for the marriage that effectively only lasted two and a bit months).

Hindsight is a blessing with this show since thanks to my serial watching of The Soup and now semi-regular updates from the Bitch Sesh podcast and the front covers of gossip magazines.

Sure I know that a sizeable percentage of this show is staged to make the family look their best. Still, there are times where something real seems to happen and that’s what you watch it for. That and the main lesson of the whole show: money can solve most problems. Cynical? Yes, but this does happen an awful lot.

So yes, I can chalk this up to a begrudging thumbs up. Not too high though. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

