Good Eatin’ – Cocido de Garbanzos Pedrosillanos

List Item: Try three quarters of the 1001 Foods You Must Try Before You Dieimg_4618Food item: Garbanzos Pedrosillano

So I have had these little chick peas sitting in my cupboard for months. I never touched them because of the whole having to soak them for 8+ hours before cooking. That and the fact that all the recipes I could find for this particular type of chick peas were in Spanish. So I did what I had to do: used copious amounts of Google Translate to find out what on earth was happening in this recipe.

img_4619

Do you know how gratifying it is when the food you made looks very much like the picture on the website.

Since I’ve actually managed to make this, I figured I would post the translation I worked on:


Ingredients (serves 4)

500g garbanzo pedrosillano (pre-soaked for 8+ hours)
300g stewing beef, cut into chunks
100g bacon, cut into squares
1 leek, thinly sliced
2 garlic cloves (chopped)
1 large carrot, diced
1 large potato, diced
1 splash of brandy (we don’t have brandy so I used Southern Comfort…)
1 cup white wine
A pinch of dried thyme (I know it’s meant to be rosemary, but I don’t have rosemary)
3 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp sugar

In a saucepan add the three tablespoons of oil. Fry the bacon until brown before removing and setting aside.

Saute the beef over a high heat so it browns on the outside. Pour in the brandy (ok, fine, Southern Comfort) and cook until the the alcohol evaporates. Remove, then set aside.

In the remaining fat fry the garlic, leek and carrot. Add a splash of water and the sugar and cook until the carrots are soft enough to break in half with the end of a spatula. Add the thyme and wine until it begins to simmer.

Re-add the beef and bacon, cover with water and bring to a boil. Add the the chickpeas and leave to simmer for 90 minutes, stirring  every now and then. Add the potatoes when there are still 30 minutes left to cook, and serve when very hungry whilst watchingSilent Witness.


So what’s the overall verdict of these little chick peas? Well, I am surprised that they maintained their shape and their firmness despite 10 hours of soaking and 90 minutes of cooking. Apart from that these were like slightly nuttier and firmer chick peas.

Probably not worth the extra money compared to regular chick peas… then again I am not the biggest fan of a large amount of chick peas in a stew.

Progress: 602/751

Leave a Reply

