Level One – The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

List Item: Play 100 of the greatest computer games
Progress: 63/100Title: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Developer: Bethesda Game Studios
Original Platform: PC, Playstation 3 and Xbox 360
Year: 2013

As a frequent consumer of Reddit and other online message boards I know how late to the Skyrim party I am. When playing this game I was just waiting for that first guard to tell me about that time they were shot in the knee or asked if I was feeling dour because of a stolen sweetroll.

So here we are over 3 years later and I have finally united my copy (a Christmas gift) with my Xbox 360. I could have just gone for the remastered edition… but I am more than happy to sample it on the original system. I think ‘more than happy’ is an understatement here, I bloody love this game.

As of writing this I have already spent more than 20 hours in this game and I feel that I have only just started to scratch the surface. Strange how with games like A Link To The Past I started to wonder when it would end and yet with games like this, Mass Effect 2 and Fallout: New Vegas the hours just seem to melt away.

If you live on the underside of a rock or have no interest in games you won’t know what this game is about. Essentially, it’s a fantasy action/RPG where you roam around a snowy landscape completing quests, killing dragons and (I am guessing) eventually help end a civil war.

This game is a winner because it is just so incredibly open. Sure, if you go down the wrong road you might end up being killed in one blow by a giant, but the point still stands. Both myself and the hub are playing this game simultaneously and are having completely different experiences.

Since we both have all the DLC for Skyrim there is one uniting factor: hunting for materials to make door locks. Feels a bit silly when you write it out, but it’s amazing what becomes important when immersed in the gaming world.

It’s just one of those games that makes me truly glad to be a gamer.

Leave a Reply

