Good Eatin’ – Pantelleria Capers

List Item: Try three quarters of the 1001 Foods You Must Try Before You Dieimg_3820Food item: Pantelleria Caper

I can’t expressed how weirdly thrilled I was with my husband when he found these in Marks and Spencer. It sounds like I have a specifically low bar to clear in order to make me happy… I just think myself weird.

So what makes the Pantelleria caper different? Well these are specifically grown on an island off the coast of Sicily (meaning I could have had these a few years ago when I was in Catania and not even known it). Apparently the black volcanic soil helps to add to the flavour and, having tasted these out of the jar, I have to say that these are the most capery capers that I have ever had.

Now, you can’t just eat capers by themselves (well you can, but go with me) so I decided to make one of my signature dinners.

img_3821

Spaghetti Puttanesca is one of the quickest and easiest recipes that I have in my arsenal (my recipe here). This is so quick and easy that I ended up making this as a ‘please like me’ meal when I first met my in-laws. The fact that I made something that translates as “spaghetti in the style of prostitutes” didn’t even occur to me. It came up when they were eating though, luckily it wasn’t too awkward.

I know it’s a cliche to say this, but I can really taste the difference with these special capers. They just taste a lot stronger than your bog-standard caper. Definitely something to remember for the future should I ever find them again.

Progress: 575/751

Leave a Reply

