Good Eatin’ – Amchur Sweet Potato Wedges

This is proof of just how much harder it has become to find food items from the 1001 list. It has been well over a month since my shungiku experience and, due to rather fruitless efforts to find bara brith in Cardiff,  I am back in the spice cupboard.

Originally I was going to find a recipe for the jar of galangal paste I bought an age ago… but that had run out so I figured I could go for the container behind that.

List Item: Try three quarters of the 1001 Foods You Must Try Before You DieFood item: Amchur

Amchur (or amchoor) is a spice from India that is made from dried green mango. It’s likely that I have previously consumed many products containing amchur without even being aware of it. Things like samosa, chutney, pakoras and maybe a curry or two – aka delicious Indian things – can contain amchur.

A pinch of uncooked amchur powder does a lot to explain where this can be used. There is a sweetness and a sourness that is reminiscent of a mixture of lemon juice and tamarind. The benefit of amchur powder over lemon juice is that you aren’t adding any moisture (you can tell I’ve been watching The Great British Bake Off) and maybe I’ll find some use for this in some cake icing… if I bake, which is a rarity at the moment.

Rather than just eating the raw powder (which is weird) I decided to use it in the manufacturing of sweet potato wedges.

img_3502

Honestly these wedges were so easy. I have little to no patience with making wedges from normal potatoes (all that pre-boiling, ugh) which is why I love making things with sweet potato.

Literally all you need to make this is:

  • 4 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into wedges
  • 1 tbsp amchur powder
  • 1 tbsp garam masala powder
  • 3 tbsp garlic-infused olive oil
  • 2 tsp sesame oil

Just mix in a bowl, lay on a foiled baking tray and bung in a 200°C/390°F oven for 20 minutes (turning halfway through). So simple that I wonder why I don’t make my own wedges more often.

Progress: 558/751

Leave a Reply

