🎻♫♪ – Ballades by Guillaume de Machaut

List Item: Listen to half of the 1001 Classical Works You Must Hear Before You Die
Progress:
 8/501Title: Ballades
Composer: Guillaume de Machaut
Nationality: French
Year:
 1300s

I think it was a good thing to break up the church music with a little bit of Mozart death music. I mean between the Antiphons and the chanting it was getting a little bit repetitive. Good, yes, but repetitive.

As part of my job (at time of writing this – I hope that by the time this goes up I will be doing something else) I have had to spend a weekend vetting resources for a training day. Kinda annoying as it means I am losing a weekend before having to work in Wales for a week.

Why am I mentioning my work woes? Well Ballades was my background music for a large section of this vetting. Like with Mozart’s Requiem I felt that the work was possibly grander and more important than it actually was.

Being two centuries younger I could not help but feel that this music was a lot more complex than those that had proceeded it whilst still feeling religious.

I’m starting to yearn, once again for more modern classic pieces. Maybe something more Philip Glass? Probably not.

Leave a Reply

