Level One – Sid Meier’s Civilization II

List Item: Play 100 of the greatest computer games
Progress: 59/100Title: Sid Meier’s Civilization II
Developer: MicroProse
Original Platform: PC
Year: 1996

After the disappointment of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time I thought it would be good to cosy on up to some Civ. Playing this means that I have tried my hand at all of the games in the series (including Civilization VI… which my hub got for Christmas). I was thinking about ranking them but since both this and the original Civilization feel pretty much the same (minus graphics and some keyboard uses) it’s become that much harder.

When it comes to videogames there is an argument that simpler is better. As much as I love watching someone play the likes of Crusader Kings II on a Let’s Play the moment I try my hand at it I have the tendency to feel overwhelmed before being assassinated by my aunt (true story).

With Sid Meier’s Civilization II simpler is not better. I think hours and hours of playing Civilization IV and have resulted in me in getting so used to more advanced controls that regressing backwards just felt… restrictive rather than freeing.

I don’t know, but the more I played it (as Tokugawa, because why not) the more I missed elements from later games like culture, tourism and the moving portraits of famous figures. There was no Isabella of Castelle to steal towns from or a Gandhi to launch nuclear weapons at. It just felt lacking in the … character that I have come to know and love from these games.

Sometimes it is good to look back, but other times maybe it isn’t worth it as much if you fell in love with a later incarnation of a series. Assassin’s Creed and Mario may be some of the few exceptions to the rule here… at least for me anyway.

Leave a Reply

