Good Eatin’: Iranian Pistachios and Maine Lobster

List Item: Try half of the combined 1001 food books

IMG_3344 IMG_3345
Food item: Maine Lobster Food item: Lobster Roll

I don’t think I have been this excited to be making food in a very long time. It has been over a year since I last saw Maine lobster in a supermarket and I had almost lost hope. It’s thanks to near misses such as this which has meant that I will buy first, find recipes later.

Both Maine lobster and lobster roll are food items that have provided near misses in the past – so it is fitting that I use a Maine lobster to make a lobster roll. Obviously I had to find a recipe so thanks to the people at the Food Network for this.

Now, whilst I am not the biggest fan of crab and a lot of shellfish I have to say quite the opposite of lobster. Even though I haven’t had lobster that often even I could taste the difference here. This Maine lobster is sweeter than other lobster, in fact it is the first time I can categorically say that I have had sweet lobster meat.

The original 1001 book suggests having Maine lobster as a lobster roll and oh my god did they get that right. In a way it’s a fancy prawn or crayfish mayonnaise, but on the other hand it’s just so much better than that. I can’t describe why this is so much nicer and yes it is more than the fact that it feels so decadent. The Pret-a-Manger crayfish mayonnaise sandwich will never taste the same again.

Food item: Iranian Pistachio

Pistachios are my favourite nut (cashew nuts are a close second), but I rarely get them as they are damned expensive. However, finding an actual bag of Iranian pistachios was too big of an opportunity to miss. I mean, I’ve been bitten by not buying something the moment I saw it (oh Bresse chicken where did you go) and I’ll be damned if I’ll let that happen again.

I managed to consume half a pack of these whilst doing a remote meeting in my flat’s study/laundry room/games storage. This is fairly normal when it comes to me and my snacking. In fact, it was slower than usual because I had to de-shell and eat them between making comments on test papers (don’t ask).

To be completely honest –  I have no real idea how these pistachios from Iran are any different from other pistachios that I have had. It might have helped if I wrote this up straightaway instead of waiting a few weeks… oh well live and learn.

Progress: 898/933

Leave a Reply

