Acclaimed Albums – Psychocandy by The Jesus and Mary Chain

List item: Listen to the 250 greatest albums
Progress: 113/250Title: Psychocandy
Artist: The Jesus and Mary Chain
Year: 1985
Position: #79

If I am being honest, I only picked out Psychocandy to be my next album because it had an interesting album name. Also, it had been a good while since I had listened to an album of the 1980s. Well, Psychocandy now ranks with Loveless as one of my favourite discoveries from taking on this album list.

As I mentioned in a previous post, there is a part of me that really loves noise pop and shoegaze. The fact that, with Psychocandy, I have now listened to the album that provided a point of inspiration for the shoegaze acts that followed just blows my mind. I thought I was there with Loveless, but no this rabbit hole goes deeper! Amazing.

Actually if you listen to Psychocandy and Loveless one after the other (as I did in the office) this progression in sound becomes very obvious. The use of feedback and distorted guitars is a lot more visceral on Psychocandy with this album straddling the line between post-punk and noise pop. Loveless is a lot more melodic in places (‘Soon’ still stands as my favourite song on that album).

What also points Psychocandy in the punk direction is that it is is very much a “blink it and you’ll miss it” kind of album. Despite being 14 songs long Psychocandy clocks in at less than 40 minutes. Now, this makes it the perfect length for the train ride to work, but when it finishes I always find myself surprised that it is already over. I felt very much the same when I listened to the Ramones’ debut so I am guessing it’s either just a punk thing or I have been spoilt by longer albums. Who knows. What I do know is that it left me wanting more.

As much as I enjoyed Psychocandy (which falls under the annoying classification of ‘albums whose best track is the first one’) it didn’t strike me as much as Loveless. However, it still ranks as one of the best albums I have listened because of this list.

Leave a Reply

