(✿◠‿◠) Anime!!! – Haikyū!!

Two weeks later and this is no longer a wrist problem, but my whole right arm and shoulder. The dictated reviews shall continue on.

List Item:  Watch the 100 best anime TV series
Progress: 9/100Title: Haikyū!!
Episodes Aired: 25
Episodes Watched:
25
Year(s): 2014

If you had told me when I started on this list that I would become fan of sport anime… I would have looked at you with a bemused expression. Now that I have seen Haikyū!! I am beginning to wonder how many great series I missed out on over the years.

The dynamics of a sports anime is very different to sports film; for one thing you have longer to focus on character development rather than relying on tired stereotypes. Also thanks to the magic of animation you can spend longer on shots and individual plays and so attribute extra meaning to every success and mistake.

I only have Cross Game to compare with, so it will be a while before I am able to provide actual insight into the genre. However, I’m really think that I liked Haikyū!! over Cross Game. Main reason? I felt a greater sense of support for this volleyball team.

The genius behind Haikyū!! is that this team is far from perfect. In Cross Game the focus was on two near unbeatable players with the others as they support cast. Here no one is faultless. Everyone makes mistakes at important moments in the match. And the main two characters, while so clearly destined for great things, get it wrong quite a lot of time. This makes the team not only more relatable, but a lot more fun to support.

haikyu

In the first episode I was slightly underwhelmed by the quality of the animation. To be perfectly honest I was actually rather creeped out by some of the faces. Especially Hinata whose wide eyes made me feel slightly nervous. I utterly fell for the character very quickly due to his incredible energy and sheer determination. I also slightly fell for Tsukishima, but that will be he reminds me of someone I had a crush on when I was a lot younger.

The second season of Haikyū!! is also on the list with a third to follow in October. Because I done to sports animes in a row I will be going for something different now. However, the second season will be watched very soon so I can watch the third season as it happens. Fantastic series.

One thought on “(✿◠‿◠) Anime!!! – Haikyū!!

  1. Love Haikyuu! It’s not my favourite sports anime, but nevertheless I still love it. I prefer the manga because it’s funnier and there’s just more details there than in the anime. However, I still like the anime. The seiyuu are good and I think that they did the matched justice.

Leave a Reply

