XL Popcorn – Steamboat Bill Jr. / The Naked Spur

So, guess who has their wrist all strapped up because of an inflamed tendon. That’s right, it’s me. For an office worker, blogger and gamer this is pretty crap!

ohmywrist

This means time off work to rest my wrist and time to catch up on movies whilst answering queries remotely when possible. Still, it’s meant a lot of movie watching has happened.

As I cannot use my right hand I will be writing these film reviews using the voice recognition software on my laptop. So… dictated reviews it is. It took a month before I recovered enough for me to return to work – so I will be doubling up all film reviews and posting them everyday (otherwise we are looking at months of blog content here and I am already 5 months ahead).

List Item: Watch all of the “1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die”
Title: Steamboat Bill Jr.
Director: Charles Reisner and Buster Keaton
Year: 1928
Country: USA

Continuing my run of silent movies is this classic from 1928. Buster Keaton is on top form as the dandy son of a grizzled river boat captain. To be honest, I’m not the biggest fan of silent comedies. I tend to like my silent movies darker; like The Unknown.

However, I can really appreciate the stunts that Keaton performed in the “high wind” scenes. Especially the bit when the house fell on Keaton and he goes through the window. I cannot understand how one man could do all the stunts. As a story I felt it was pretty weak, but I can appreciate the work that went into it.

Title: The Naked Spur
Director: Anthony Mann
Year: 1953
Country: USA

One of the better westerns I have seen. Probably in part because of Janet Leigh and James Stewart. The setup is a classic of the western genre, a group of people who are accompanying their bounty back to the authorities and the paranoia that ensues.

The ending is a foregone conclusion from the start, however it doesn’t matter because the writing is far cleverer than your standard western. Plus, the interactions between the cast is truly believable. Especially the character of Tate. I do feel that the archetypal romance was a bit forced and that the ending was unbelievable. I mean, you go through all that trouble and then you just give up the bounty… What the hell!

Progress: 470/1007

Leave a Reply

