Good Eatin’: Two Nights At The Cardiff Holiday Inn

List Item: Try half of the combined 1001 food books

As part of my job there is quite a bit of Cardiff travel involved. Last time I was down there I managed to cross off a book on the way down. My book at the moment is War and Peace, so no chance of devouring that on a return journey. I did manage to get 10% further in which puts me at 32%, so baby steps.

I brought a bunch of movies with me, but due to having meetings until 10-11pm on both nights I did not have time to watch any. Still, I managed to make use of the paid for dinners to cross off some desserts.

IMG_3205 IMG_3206
Food item: N/A Food item: Lemon Posset

Why do so many restaurants eschew plates and bowls in favour of slate and mason jars? I may be incredibly uncool by being annoyed with this. Then again, this is a Holiday Inn and not a Michelin starred eatery.

A lemon posset is a fairly traditional British pudding. It even featured in MacbethThere is no doubt that what you are eating is flavoured and sweetened cream. In the version I had there was also crumbled biscuit on top. It’s one of those things you can only eat very little of before feeling sick.

IMG_3208 IMG_3209
Food item: N/A Food item: Tiramisu

The second night was time for me to try the ‘chicken stack’, which was again served on a roof tile, and a sample of their garlic bread. I’m never one to say no to a free meal, but I actually quite liked some of the food at the Holiday Inn.

For pudding, it was the tiramisu. I’ve had this quite a few times since I starting using the second food book, but I always forgot that this was on the list. It’s not one of my favourite desserts, seeing how it is coffee based, but with the right amount of chocolate sauce it is something I can appreciate.

Progress: 849/933

Leave a Reply

