Good Eatin’: Getting Paid To Eat Lobster

List Item: Try half of the combined 1001 food books

IMG_3198Food item: Surf and Turf

Okay, I need to properly contextualize this. It’s not like I get paid to eat out (sadly), but whenever I have an external meeting there is the lunch that comes with the venue. Like I detailed in a previous post, we were the only meeting in this venue. This meant we could choose from their menu… that only offered steak or lobster. Quel dommage!

I ended up with a surf and turf thanks to some like-minded thinking with a writer at my meeting. So I ordered the steak, he ordered the lobster and we just shared the wealth (and use of the claw cracker). Felt a proper pity to get back to work after such a decadent lunch with good company… but them’s the breaks. I would SO do this again.

IMG_3199Food item: Berbere

So I could have probably checked this off a while ago when I had the injera for the first time.  I have become such a regular visitor to this twice-weekly Ethiopian stall to the point of face recognition… and yet it took me ages to see the card that told me that their beef stew contained berbere as a salient ingredient. That would go a long way to explain the warmth in these Ethiopian dishes. See you next Monday, Ethiopian woman I don’t know.

IMG_3193Food item: Kung Pao Chicken

Okay so this was a day-old takeaway as I ordered too much Chinese food whilst hub was away in The Netherlands. It tasted a lot better warmed up than when cold. Obviously. It was definitely spicy, as suggested in the book, so I had to remove the larger pieces of chilli. That wasn’t enough to tame it completely, but it was a good start. I think this is definitely one to buy again. Thank you Ocean City Swallow.

Progress: 842/933

Leave a Reply

