Let’s Get Literal: Winnie-The-Pooh by A. A. Milne

List Item: Read 100 of the greatest works of fiction
Progress: 25/100Title: Winnie-The-Pooh
Author: A. A. Milne
Year: 1926
Country: UK

From the colossal to the tiny here. Over three months it took me to read Clarissa and I am able to get through Winnie-The-Pooh in less than two train journeys. The range in book length on this list is actually remarkable. Yes, there is still War and Peace to go, but also Heart of Darkness so it is not like I am just left with tomes.

Is it bad that I preferred this book to Clarissa. That I prefer the whimsical tale of making a boat out of an umbrella in order to rescue a piglet over rape and misogyny? I think I really needed a bit of a literary cleanse and Winnie-The-Pooh really was the book to do it.

I recognised most of the stories from the Disney adaptation, but there was one that I didn’t know that really struck me. The introduction of Kanga and Roo. In it Rabbit decides he is going to kidnap Roo in order to play a trick on someone new in the forest that he doesn’t particularly like. I mean, that is REALLY dark for a children’s book. It all ends fine and they all become friends, but that was a weird.

Also, there’s Eeyore. In the Disney version he is lightened up a LOT. His story about how happy Eeyore was when they got an empty honey pot and a burst balloon as a present was ultra touching. However, in the final story… talk about a complete buzzkill. Like Marvin from Hitchhikers, but with none of the one-liners.

Thing is, this is aimed at children so I will take it as such. I enjoyed it as an adult, but I know that I would have loved it even more as a child.

Leave a Reply

