New Lists Appeared: 1001 Comics & TV Shows

I think it is pretty well established that I am both a glutton for punishment and have an unrealistic expectation of how many ‘cultural things’ I can get through. I mean, I am working on the gaming meta-list and I am not even halfway through the books or films list. Not to mention all the foods I want to try.

Still, I have an excuse for all this: hubby (he seems to prefer ‘hub’ to ‘hubby’, but this is my blog). We’ll be doing these together, which means that we have agreed some rules regarding what we consider complete. For both lists I am going to aim for half first, just to make things feel that little bit more manageable.

List Item:  Read half of the 1001 Comics You Must Read Before You DieProgress: 7/501

Okay, so I have always wanted to be a comic book reader. Also a lot of the manga and comics that I have read (e.g. Cardcaptor Sakura, Dilbert, The World God Only Knows, Nichijou and Usagi Drop) just are not on the list. Guess it means that my taste doesn’t quite align to the book. Still, means that the seven I have read (Persepolis, Scott Pilgrim, Watchmen, Death Note, Bleach, Genshiken and The Walking Dead) can be crossed off of the list.

Now, rules. These are rules that we agreed together since some of these comics have been going for 50+ years:

Type of Comic Amount to read
Graphic novels  All
Daily comics 1 year’s worth minimum
Weekly 2 year’s worth minimum
Monthly 3 year’s worth minimum

So yes, I have a long way to go to get to 500 comics. It’s a damned sight more than the number of regular books that I still need to read. Rather exciting in a way, and it will provide a nice prolonged piece of relief after I get around to War and Peace.

List Item:  Watch half of the 1001 TV Series You Must Watch Before You Die

1001 tvProgress: 163/501

It, sadly, makes a lot of sense that this is a list that I have done particularly well with. I mean, I do watch a lot of TV. Some of it had to be of value. Then there are shows like I’m A Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here which are somehow on this list… I guess it did start something.

As with the comics this had to have some rules attached:

Type of TV Show Minimum to watch
Annual Events (e.g. Eurovision) 5 episodes
Mini-series and Made for TV Movies All episodes
Regular broadcasts –  >1 hour long 15 hours or 3 episodes (whatever is greater)
Regular broadcasts –  <1 hour long 20 episodes (or all if less then 20)

There are some additional rules to go with this. If we decide to start on a really long lasting show such as The Ed Sullivan Show or Brookside we will instead opt to only watch episodes picked out in the book or by articles on the web to ensure that we get a good flavour of what makes the shows worthy of inclusion on this list.

Due to our own rules there are shows like Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt which are yet to be crossed off since, despite having seen all of it, we have yet to reach out 20 episode cap that will be reached once the second season comes out on Netflix. Swings and roundabouts eh?

I have no clue where we are going to start on this. I just know it isn’t going to be chronologically done.

Leave a Reply

