Halloween 2015

It’s Halloween weekend 2015 and it appears that I am in the throes of some form of jetlag. It is the third morning in a row that I have been awake at 5am and actually am okay to wake up. Ugh.

Anyway, seeing how this is Halloween weekend (to be going up 5 months later) I can think of some food and maybe a movie to cross off.

List Item: Try half of the combined 1001 food books

Food item: Toffee Apple

Believe it or not, but I had never had a toffee apple before. I had one of those things which looks like a toffee apple, but is actually an apple-sized piece of marshmallow coated in chocolate and sprinkles. My question about toffee apples is this: why? An apple can be hard enough to bite into when it is cold. Coat it in rock-hard toffee and it becomes weird. Nice enough, probably too old to have this for the first time.


Food item: Pumpkin Pie

So, these do look like giant Reeses Cups, but they are actually two slightly shallow pumpkin pies. What can I say? I have no faith in making my own pastry so I had to use what they had in Morrison’s. It’s been a while since I last made pumpkin pie (using the recipe on the Libby’s tin), and for this one I subbed in some nutmeg for ginger since I just like it better.

As much as I like the cooked pie I equally like the raw pie mix and may try and turn it into ice cream at some point.

Progress: 777/933

List Item: Watch all of the “1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die”
Progress: 455/1007Title: The Hour of the Wolf (Vargtimmen)
Director: Ingmar Bergman
Year: 1968
Country: Sweden

This is the fifth Ingmar Bergman film I have seen (after The Seventh Seal, Fanny & Alexander, Autumn Sonata and Cries & Whispers) and this is, by far, the most bizarre. Vargtimmen was his only attempt at making a horror movie. After reading some reviews for it on Rotten Tomatoes where it was described as a brilliant gothic fantasy, I figured that it would make for a good horror movie for Halloween.

Thing is, it wasn’t scary. Fair enough, not all horror movies are. The Innocents, for example, is unsettling and haunting instead of being scary. I am not entirely sure what Vargtimmen was. I guess abstract and psychological would be some decent adjectives?

I guess the issue I had was with Alma (played by Liv Ullmann) the lead character and wife of Johan (played by Max Von Sydow). In the words of my mum, “she is such a drip”. As husbands go he is a moody arsehole who goes on to shoot her (don’t worry she lives). She stays with him despite some weird forms of psychological abuse and then muses at the end that maybe she didn’t love him enough.

The best part of this film occurs in the last 15 minutes, but it was weird rather than anything I would consider horror.

As a film lover, this was definitely worth seeing. I mean, just to see how Bergman takes on psychological horror (more like thriller really). Probably not a rewatch though.

Leave a Reply

