Sight Seein’ – Canterbury Cathedral

It is dangerous for me to buy books like this. The honest fact is that there are a number of these ‘top list’ kinda books that I really want to add to my bucket list. I know that I am going to add so many things that would be impossible for one person to do. But that’s okay. Why not aim for a truly astonishing life with broad experiences only to have a great one?

With this list, I am under no illusions that I have no chance of being able to visit all 500. I mean, when I look at this list there are a number of places where I have no real drive to visit. The Camp Nou stadium for instance. I have no real urge to visit a football stadium.

By inserting this Travelist list I am going to use this as an opportunity to cross off a number of items from my general bucket list including:

List items: Visit Disney World in Florida, the Great Barrier Reef, Vatican City, Uffizi Gallery, Niagara Falls, “Vesuvius and it’s victims” and the Colosseum,
Progress: Completed

Originally the idea was that I would need to pad this blog out in order to do two posts a week, so I would write these up separately. Little did I know that I would become so list crazy.

Anyway, let’s just start on this next one with a trip to Canterbury. Utter coincidence that is happened this way, but a happy one to say the least.

List item: Visit 100 of the Lonely Planet’s Ultimate Travelist
Progress: 43/100

Sight: Canterbury Cathedral
Location: Canterbury, England
Position: #219

How can I have lived in Kent pretty much all my life and have not visited Canterbury? Well, I rectified this over the August bank holiday and enjoyed the sites of Canterbury and its Gothic cathedral.

One thing that I never really thought about was how I live to close to the central church of a religion. It still does not make sense to me why Canterbury, of all places, would feature the central church of a religion.

In terms of pure church beauty I would say that York Minster is a far more impressive place, which is probably why it is placed higher on the Lonely Planet list. For history, however, there is a lot more bloody history here that I am aware of. Of course, I am referring to the assassination/murder of Thomas Becket.

I am a real sucker for history, and for churches. I am lucky to have seen some of the most beautiful ones in the world and I look forward to see many more in the future.

List Item: Try half of the combined 1001 food books

Food items: Green Tea and Soft-Boiled Eggs with Soldiers

Of course, whilst I was in Canterbury there was a chance to find some other list things. In fact I was able to get two (rather easy) ones as part of breakfast, despite the fact that we were attacked by wasps for most of the breakfast.

To be honest, the ‘dippy eggs and soldiers’ was not the best soft boiled egg I have ever had, but it’s one of those things that I have had a lot as a child so I figure I might as well count it now.

Food items: Microgreen and Welsh Rarebit

After the visit to the Cathedral it was time for tea and a visit to Tiny Tim’s. Now, I order the rarebit thinking that I didn’t need to eat anything too big – and then I got this massive plate of gorgeous thick cut granary bread smothered in a gorgeous cheese and mustard sauce.

The watercress on top, apparently, gets me a check off the original 1001 Foods list. Not exactly a headliner – unlike the sauce which was so incredibly gorgeous.

Progress: 661/933

Leave a Reply

