Acclaimed Albums – Led Zeppelin II & IV

List item: Listen to the 250 greatest albums
Progress: 85/250

Title: Led Zeppelin II
Artist: Led Zeppelin
Year: 
1969
Position:
#74
Title: Led Zeppelin IV
Artist: Led Zeppelin
Year: 1971
Position: #28

So my Kindle died on me this morning, currently on volume 3 of Clarissa for the book list, so I figured that I would try and get some albums in. Since, as of writing, the 2015 update of the Acclaimed Albums list was not out I figure that I might as well mine some of the safer entries for listens.

A while has passed since I listened Led ZeppelinPart of me thought that I would come back to it in the year afterwards, but it just didn’t happen. My distaste for too many guitar solos on one record probably kept me away.

Still, I have been thinking about a return to the later albums, if only for the iconic ‘Stairway to Heaven’. It’s one of those songs that everyone heard, if not heard of. I still find it amazing that it was able to gain so much traction despite not being released as a single. Where I am musically, I can pretty much take or leave it to be honest. In fact, whilst I definitely see how Led Zeppelin IV is better than their first album it was Led Zeppelin II that I enjoyed a whole lot more.

Maybe it was because the opening track, ‘Whole Lotta Love’, made me think of those Friday nights as a boy watching Top of the Pops. I certainly don’t think it is because of a love of that kind of hard rock music, because that is not true, there is just something about the album that was far more attention-grabbing and could then keep hold of it. It even provided a good backdrop for some of the more tedious office work.

So yes, it appears that with Led Zeppelin II  I have found an album by led Zeppelin that I enjoy. Led Zeppelin IV? Not as much.

One thought on “Acclaimed Albums – Led Zeppelin II & IV

  1. Glad you like it. Considering these were some of the first songs I wrote at the age of 15…though I did borrow heavily from many southern artists or those who have ties to Alabama…such as those who recorded with Alabama native Sam Phillips Sun Records and included Howlin’ Wolf and Jerry Lee Lewis.

Leave a Reply

