Good Eatin’: Hot Enough For Coke Floats

List Item: Try half of the combined 1001 food books

Everyone remember how late June/early July of this year was really warm? How we were complaining how it was too hot. How many of us are wishing for it to come back as we descend further into December?

This selection of food was all eaten over the course of a week during which we had quite a bit of heat. Seeing how a lot of the foods here are traditionally from warmer climates, I can not help but wonder if there has been some form of subliminal influence.

Food item: Coke Float

I had never had a coke float before, and now I want more. For this we went to Snowflake on Wardour Street in London and instead of the regular vanilla ice cream I went for coconut and white chocolate. With the full fat Coke and the sweetness of the coconut I have to say that this was the perfect drink for a summer’s day.

I am glad, however, that I came across no wasps. They would have swarmed me.


Food item: Canneles

On the same day we ventured into Fortnum & Mason. It’s my favourite of the big London department stores because whilst it is beautiful and ornate it does not carry all the airs that the likes of Harrod’s do.

As luck would have it, Fortnum & Mason had recently introduced canneles to their range of pastries. So we walked off with two small ones (I’m not made of money, sadly) and ate them in Hyde Park. They were a lot springier than they looked with a custardy centre and caramalised outsides. Basically, now that I think about it, they were like if you could make small cylindrical crème brûlée cakes.


Food items: Tortilla de Patatas and Gambas al Ajillo (for some dumb reason this is on the list twice)

The next day we found ourselves buying tapas style food from the local Co-Op. I know that these things would have been better from Spain itself (or a Spanish restaurant), but we were hungry and it was on offer. Plus, like many things so far, these are things I have had better versions of in the past so this is just for the sake of the check off.

Food item: Leerdammer

Same idea as the above here. I am not exactly sure how often I have had Leerdammer since I started using the new list. It’s one of those old faithful cheeses I will buy for my work sandwiches because it’s on the cheaper end of the spectrum and comes in a light version (it makes for a mean toastie as well). Still, another easy check off.

Food item: Asparagus

Okay, so this is another easy check off because the original 1001 Foods You Must Eat Before You Die list is very specific about the types of asparagus that you need to try. In this instance I have been able to check off some rather generic asparagus by stealing some from my mum’s plate during a meal out.

Food items: Pistachios and Crème Brûlée

Another two grabs because of all the off-site meetings that I need to book. Since we were the only people in the meeting venue we got a three course menu meal rather than a buffet. I have previously been able to get quail eggs and Eton mess from this – today it was Crème Brûlée with pistachio shortbread.

Like every good person who has seen Amélie, I have come to adore the cracking the top of a crème brûlée with the back of a spoon. Yes, it is caramel and a thick custard so it tastes gorgeous, but the best bit is the satisfaction of that initial cracking. It is the main reason for my desire to get a miniature blowtorch for my kitchen… somehow I doubt the husband would trust me with a small fiery appliance.


Food item: Mutter Paneer, Garam Masala

Right, leaving one of the more interesting until last here. Well, it is for me since I actually cooked this one. I am never that keen on frying cheese, mainly because I am keenly aware that I am adding oil to dairy and that’s just adding fat to fat.

Still, it’s best not to think about these things, especially when you are about to enjoy a rather delicious paneer and pea curry… in a wholewheat tortilla! I had no patience on this night to make rice so wraps it was! It slopped everywhere and I got turmeric on my t-shirt, but it was worth it.

Progress: 625/933

Leave a Reply

