Acclaimed Albums – Beggars Banquet & Let It Bleed by The Rolling Stones

List item: Listen to the 250 greatest albums
Progress: 80/250

Title: Beggars Banquet
Artist: The Rolling Stones
Year: 
1968
Position:
#33
Title: Let It Bleed
Artist: The Rolling Stones
Year: 1969
Position: #36

At this point I think I might as well concede that my understanding of rock music is paltry at best. To be honest, as I was listening to Beggars Banquet my main thoughts were “wow this sounds like The Rolling Stones are trying to be Bob Dylan” and “I want to listen to that new Florence + The Machine track with all the horns”.

It really is the old chestnut that music appreciation, as well as these rankings, is subjective. Yes, the Acclaimed Albums list is a meta-list that makes a consensus out of subjectivity, but in the end that is all this is. I think that between this and the ups-and-downs of Bob Dylan I need to go into albums with low expectations so I can be surprised. Hey, it worked for Jimmy Hendrix after all!

One thing of note is that whilst Beggars Banquet left me completely cold (even ‘Sympathy for the Devil’ which is a track whose title I instantly recognised) I warmed to Let It Bleed from the word go.

When it comes to the music that I actually listen to leans more towards Let It Bleed than Beggars Banquet. When I was listening to the title track ‘Let It Bleed’ I could hear Beck. With other tracks there were shades of Ryan Adams and The White Stripes. Of course, I could still hear the influence of Bob Dylan (actually impressive how much this man was able to exert an influence over his contemporaries).

I listened to both of these albums in succession and talk about leaving the best track for last. ‘You Can’t Always Get What You Want’ is an absolute classic. I know there are other tracks on these albums with higher esteem (‘Street Fighting Man’ and ‘Honky Tonk Woman’ to name only two) but this just felt like the complete stand-out track.

And so continues the listening experiment. The fact that I am writing this in June and I am having to play guesswork at what the new updated list is going to keep in is really ruling out a lot of albums for the minute…

 

Leave a Reply

