Acclaimed Albums – The White Album by The Beatles

In late August the Acclaimed Albums site had its 2015 update. As a result of this there are two albums that I have covered that were demoted. As such, this is now the 75th album to be covered according to the list.

List item: Listen to the 250 greatest albums
Progress: 75/250Title: The Beatles ‘White Album’
Artist: The Beatles
Year: 1968
Position: #13

As of writing this I am now 60% into Proust’s In Search of Lost Time. I am about a month  and a half into reading it – and, it is definitely a very long book. It would make more sense if I mentioned this whilst listing to 69 Love Songs by The Magnetic Fields, since it is the longest album, but I haven’t had 3 hours to devote to that. Instead, I DID have half of that time so figured that I could further my plough my way through The Beatles back catalogue.

First thing that strikes me. If a band came out nowadays with a song like ‘Piggies’ on their debut album I am not too sure how they would be looked upon by critics. It’s cute, it makes you laugh and it is an incredibly Beatles track. Bizarre in an ‘Old McDonald’ kind of way.

By now I am on the 5th Beatles album from this list, and my gut reaction is to place this as the second best of the three after Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band and above Rubber SoulThe only thing that hinders this is, and I know this could be seen as a stupid reason, is the length of the album. It’s not that I have a short attention span… it’s just that Assassin’s Creed III was calling me over and I still had half of a disc to go.

What kept me going (apart from the memory of tracks like ‘Back In The U.S.S.R.’, ‘Glass Onion’ and ‘Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da’) was the promise of ‘Revolution 9’ – the avant-garde track where Yoko Ono made her influence known. It was slightly odd, but when you are talking about The Beatles it takes a lot to weird you out. It was different, and I can imagine how it was ground-breaking at the time, but compared to things I have heard (mostly on Trout Mask Replica) it’s fairly tame. Worth a listen though.

Leave a Reply

