Acclaimed Albums – Slanted and Enchanted by Pavement

List item: Listen to the 250 greatest albums
Progress: 72/250Title: Slanted and Enchanted
Artist: Pavement
Year: 1992
Position: #117

For a group that have two albums in this list it’s not great that I have never actually heard of them before. It’s pretty shameful to be honest… oh wait this is an album that has only sold 150,000 in the 15 years after its release. Okay, I feel a bit better now.

Listening to this album on the first run through I have to say that I think I have heard a lot of this before. There is a touch of Murmur to it and I can see how this could have been one of the touchstones for early Beck albums (there is still a slight shadow in Odelay but I am talking more Mellow Gold here).

In a way, this album feels incredibly influential. The lo-fi indie rock schtick has been done so often since then and I am sure I could cycle through a lot of albums on my iPod where this is a possible influence.

It also feels a lot like I have heard many of these songs before, or at least elements of these songs. Not really possible since Pavement remained pretty much underground and this is not the sort of music that I would normally listen to. I mean, I would not call it emo in any way, but there is some melancholia in a number of the tracks. Then again, there is an equal amount of sheer boundless energy in other tracks, so I am not sure where exactly to place this album. I enjoyed it, which is the main thing.

Leave a Reply

