Acclaimed Albums – Back in Black by AC/DC

List item: Listen to the 250 greatest albums
Progress: 67/250Title: Back in Black
Artist: AC/DC
Year: 1980
Position: #95

Aside from probably hearing some AC/DC songs being used in adverts the only real reference I had ever really come across was an amazing clip of a man unable to spell their name correctly on Australian radio. Thing is, I knew that they were hard rock and so I assumed I would not enjoy the album.

I was wrong, but the only reason I was able to find THAT out was because I started this album by accident whilst writing up my post for Destry Rides Again and figured I would just keep it going and see how I felt about it. Now, I am under no illusion about being a sudden convert to hard rock. The closest I got to this as a teen was a symphonic metal phase with the likes of Within Temptation, Nightwish and Epica which isn’t exactly the same.

Since this is really unfamiliar territory for my listening it’s another case where I am unable to make many touchstones to actual experience or to other acts I am aware of. All I know is that the songs all felt suitably grand and anthemic as to warrant multiple listens. I also seemed to recognise a lot more of the songs than I expected. Glad I put this on by accident.

Leave a Reply

