Acclaimed Albums: Public Enemy

List item: Listen to the 250 greatest albums
Progress: 62/250

Title: It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back
Artist: Public Enemy
Year: 1988
Position: #19
Title: Fear of a Black Planet
Artist: Public Enemy
Year: 1990
Position: #131

There are a lot of things where I have started to admit that I just don’t get it. With It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back and Fear of a Black Planet, two albums that are said to exemplify East Coast rap, I think I have another thing to add to this list. I don’t get, or will probably ever get, what it is to be a black person in America. Not exactly a light bulb moment to be true, but listening to the anger and pain in these albums it is clear that as  gay, white, red-headed male living in the UK I have no real emotional stone.

Then again,  in terms of musical appreciation of these albums I don’t particularly need to. I mean, hip-hop is something that I have not been able to get my head around, but this definitly some of the better I have heard. I would like to add that I have tried a number of different artists (mostly on the recommendation of the 1001 albums book and Pitchfork.com) and other than M.I.A. and Lupe Fiasco’s Food & Liquor nothing has really made an impact on my psyche.

One thing that I am glad of is that I listened to these Public Enemy albums after I watched Do The Right Thing. Not only because of the extreme use of ‘Fight The Power’ but also because it helped to give me at least some context.  Whilst I am able to appreciate the rapping, the lyrics and the overall composition but these are not exactly albums I will probably be keeping around for too long after writing this.

Leave a Reply

