Good Eatin’: A Curry for 350

List Item: Try 500 of the 1001 Foods You Must Try Before You Die

It has been less than two months and already we are at a landmark number again. As you may have noticed, these food posts have gone from two a week to one a week. It makes sense since I am now finding it difficult… but not too difficult yet.

Food item: Praline

Another one of those things where it’s ridiculous that I did not do this earlier in the list. I got these pecan pralines for Christmas and they were absolutely delicious. Smooth, toasted nutty flavour that, if I am being honest, did not last long next to me. Melt in the mouth good.

Food item: Curry Leaf and Curry Powder

I subscribe to Degustabox, which means that I got a box of random foods every month. I have had this curry sauce in my cupboard for a while now, but not used it because I kept forgetting to take out my fish pie mix from the freezer.

The issue with describing curry powder is that it varies so much from recipe to recipe. When combined with curry leaf you know there is going to be hints of chilli, citrus and a good deal of heat. To be fair, I could probably have checked this off months ago, but I didn’t think of it then.

Food item: Tellicherry Peppercorn

Now for something we got in order to make up the numbers for a Tesco delivery. It’s hard to properly describe the taste of pepper by itself, I ground it onto my hand and licked it off. It was not as flavourful as the Szechuan pepper, but it was still a good quality black pepper with a rich heat.

Progress: 351/500

Leave a Reply

