An Elegant Dinner Party: Part One

List Item: Hold a dinner party
Progress: Completed

It’s a common thing to happen after university ends. You and your friends no longer life within walking distance, you all get jobs and suddenly you don’t see each other all the time. It sucks. This is why me and some of my university friends have decided we would go down the Come Dine With Me route and do a cycle of cooking for each other. Of course, I was the first to host which meant I had to try and set the standard.

To make it more interesting all, bar one, of these recipes were things I had never actually cooked before. They also formed a nice link to me quest to get halfway on the 1001 food list (this obsession will die down soon… I expect). So in the next two posts I’ll share the food that made this evening great.

List Item: Try 500 of the 1001 Foods You Must Try Before You Die

~~STARTERS~~

Courgette Blossoms stuffed with Ricotta and Breadcrumbs
Home-made Garlic Bread

Foods:  Ciabatta and Aioli

Okay so I may have forgotten to take pictures for this course… which doesn’t matter for one since I already took pictures when I made it a little while ago. The home-made garlic bread is a little unfortunate since it was delicious, easy and covers two additional food items:

Ingredients (serves 4-5 as a starter):

  • 2 half-baked ciabatta loaves (the type you warm in the oven for 10 minutes)
  • 1 pack Chovi Allioli dip
  • Dried oregano
  • Dried basil

I’m not even going to make this scientific. Spread aioli on the halved ciabatta, sprinkle generously with the dried basil and oregano. Cut the ciabatta into smaller pieces, put on a baking tray and bake in an oven pre-heated to 200°C for about 10 minutes so it’s nice and crispy.

Progress: 23/500

~~OFFICIAL DRINK~~

Okay, so I made up a cocktail in honour of one of my friends who was there… but it got awkward when people wanted a non-alcoholic version and called it the Virgin [Friend’s Name] and it got a little bit awkward. So I let her rename it… and we have the drink henceforth known as The Girth.

Ingredients:

  • 2 parts guava juice (because she’s exotic)
  • 2 parts ginger ale (because he’s part redhead)
  • 1 part vodka (because it needed alcohol)
  • 2 dashes of lime juice (because… you know… flavour)
  • ice

Apparently it was nice, I don’t drink alcohol. But you don’t need to shake this drink, just give it a quick stir with the straw and serve.

List Item: Invent a cocktail
Progress: Completed

Leave a Reply

