Not My First Foray Into The Blogosphere

List Item: Start a blog
Progress: Completed

Whilst I would not exactly call myself an experienced blogger, whatever that means, this bucket list blog is not exactly the first blog that I have created.

Alongside this new one I regularly contribute to a video gaming called Pong and Beyond. The idea here was one that came on a walk with my fiancée where, having purchased the book 1001 Video Games You Must Play Before You Die, I joked that we should try to play our way through them. Two and a half years later this blog now has its own domain that we purchased and we are still regularly updating it. This blog will be a reference point for a bucket list item later on, I’ll get to writing that up at some point.

Pong and Beyond, however, is not the blog I am the most proud of. That would be my cooking blog Thin Cooking which I ended up having to abandon in the first months of teacher training since the best will in the world would not allow me to continue it with all my extra work.

I am the most proud of this blog for a number of reasons. Firstly, it is because of this blog that I really was able to take my cookery to the next level due to all the practice I was getting with a different number of cuisines (leading to me eventually getting over my dislike of mushrooms). Then there is the fact that despite having abandoned I am regularly getting 3-400 views a months since it is a fairly decent reference guide to a number of references. The final reason for my pride is a bucket list item:

List Item: Be featured in a newspaper
Progress: Completed

On August 3rd 2011 my humble cookery blog was featured in The Times Register. I, of course, rushed out to get a copy of The Times that day and kept the part of the newspaper my blog was featured in. This is currently the only copy of it I have and it is currently stuck to the whiteboard in the kitchen so I can look at it whilst preparing dinner.

Needless to say I received my record number of views that day (about 600) and it was the boost I needed to keep blogging my cookery efforts until, as previously mentioned, I started my teaching.  Nowadays, I use this blog as my personal cookbook and take ideas from there if I am stumped for an evening meal.

Leave a Reply

