Time To Get This Arse Into Shape

List item: Be considered your BMI ideal weight for at least a month
Progress: Joined a gym

I woke up this morning a day after showing this blog to some mate’s at my best friend’s birthday party and they were really cool and we talked about how we could do certain items together and found an interesting item from Groupon. A lot of money off of an amazing sounding session of Zorbing (something on my list) and figured that it was some sort of serendipity until I saw the weight limit: 15.5 stone.

Here’s the thing, as a 6’3” tall guy I naturally carry more weight but I have not been in the BMI ideal limit since just before I joined primary school. After this I just ballooned and at the age of 8 (when I was first made properly aware of what a whale I was) I embarked on 16 years of diets and general failure at weight loss. I got really close to reaching BMI ideal 3 years ago but then I became depressed due to no one hiring me and suddenly 5 stone found themselves around my body and there they have stayed.

I know that if I am going to be allowed to do a number of bucket list items I need to shift a fair bit of weight, let alone reaching the ideal weight for my height. However, due to having a weak back (thanks again cab driver) and the jogging not being good for my knees (…how old am I again?) the exercises currently open to me aren’t exactly vast.

Since I have been trying to get to my ideal weight for 14 years I am really hoping this will be the last time and there are two new things that have entered my life.

1) This blog should be able to keep me honest if I keep to monthly updates where I have to include how far I have to go until I can start the month long countdown to complete it.

2) This is the big one since I actually joined a gym. Now, I have a thing about looking like a beetroot slowing boiling in its own juices but it’s something to just get over so I don’t, one day, eat myself to death.

So, help me gym membership card, you’re my only hope.

gymcard

Starting (and Current) Weight: 19st 1lb
Goal Weight: 14st 3lb

2 thoughts on “Time To Get This Arse Into Shape

  1. So that’s… *plugs into a calculator* about 120 kg to 90 kg. Doable, but if you do it correctly it will probably take around a maximum of a year. Be patient, especially at first! If you’re losing more than 1 kg (2 lb) a week you may be starving yourself, I’ve heard. Anyway I started at 94 kg in December and am now down to 78 (the target is 70 kg (11 st) or possibly even lower, seeing as I’m about half your height) – the only way I’ve managed it myself is by limiting calories with the help of an app/website (and indirectly through that, cutting alcohol to about once a week, hardly ever drinking soda or juice, and I can actually buy a packet of chocolate now without finishing it all). My biggest advice, though, is possibly hypocritical: that everyone you meet will have their own personal theory on how weight loss works or will try and get you to use their method. You’ll hear all sorts of contradictory advice, so try the way that seems right to you, and only go to another method when you’re sure it’s not working.

    The other thing is about measuring it: I think the best time to do it is first thing in the morning, because you tend to be lighter at that time, and definitely keep a log of it. I think I was actually 96 or 97 kg at the beginning of November, but because I wasn’t keeping a log, I just looked at the scales and went “close to 95”, which covers a range of about 4 kg, so I felt like I hadn’t been losing any weight.

    Also be prepared to spend money buying new clothes because none of your old ones fit you anymore. I’ve been planning to buy new work trousers for the past month or so, so I’m annoyed that I haven’t done it already because the VAT rate in Japan is going up by 3% on 1 April and everything will be more expensive…

    anyway take care πŸ™‚ x

    1. Hey Finlay,

      That’s a really great amount of weight-loss in little under 4 months! It’s so true about the conflicting things though so I’m following Margaret Cho’s two simple rules; only eat when hungry and don’t make stupid choices.

      I’m going to keep a log of it but only every two weeks. I’ve tried every day and every week and both are profoundly depressing (and for whatever reason I have a weekly cycle that makes me the heaviest on Wednesdays…)

      I hope you reach your goal soon! And I hope you are right that I can do this in a year πŸ˜€ x

Leave a Reply

