The Great E.U. Quest – The Starting Point

List Item: Visit all EU countries
Progress: 12/28

I am a very lucky person in a number of ways. Despite being the child of a single mother (who is the best mum a guy can ask for) we still managed to have the most amazing holidays. I still can not quite believe how many different countries I have under my belt at the age of 24.

This particular bucket list item is a curious one since it is another that has a potential to be completed and then become incomplete within my lifetime. The item being to visit every country within the European Union.

Europe Visited - 1

The map (see above) shows how far I have gotten so far (although due to scaling there is no way to see Malta but for this exercise it should be a yellow colour since I haven’t seen it).

So far I have had the privilege of visiting 12 of the current E.U. nations and they are coloured in as blue on the map, something that struck me immediately is how all the countries I have been to are linked together on the map; except for Portugal since I have not been to Spain yet.

At some point in the future I will write about visiting each one when I am up to date with all the items I have already since I did promise proof. But for now I am writing this to officially class this item as being in progress.

If you have any suggestions of trips I should make to help cross off some of the remaining 16 E.U. nations (Spain, Ireland, Greece, Malta, Cyprus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania, Poland, Slovakia, Sweden, Finland and Luxembourg) I would love to hear from you since I have yet to book a holiday for this year :-D.

3 thoughts on “The Great E.U. Quest – The Starting Point

  1. A suggestion for an itinerary, which would give you 5 more EU countries :

    Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania

    Prices for transport mentioned are the cheapest I could find using May as the travelling time. Sorry, they’re in Euro, not Pounds. Didn’t bother to look for hotel/hostel prices in the cities visited, but there are plenty of sites you can look those up.

    Fly to Stockholm (Ryanair). 28 Euro
    Stockholm.
    Overnight ferry to Turku (Viking Line, takes about 10 hours, so would take a cabin). 48 Euro
    Bus to Helsinki. 2 Euro
    Helsinki.
    Ferry to Tallin (about 2-3 hours). 27 Euro
    Tallin.
    Bus to Riga (Eurolines or Lux Express). 13 Euro
    Riga.
    Bus to Vilnius (Eurolines or Lux Express). 11 Euro
    Vilnius.
    Fly back to London (Ryanair). 36 Euro

    1. OMG Joke this is amazing! I was thinking about doing something like this during the summer with just Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania but this is… again amazing!

      I can’t believe you researched this for me! Looks like once I get the new job I need to book all this in 😀 x

      1. I like making itineraries, it’s like a virtual vacation. Want to do the Baltic states myself some time (have already been to Sweden and Finland).

        Prices in summer will obviously be higher, but with a little tinkering should still be doable.

Leave a Reply

